Pop

My great-grandfather was John Keelty.  We called him “Pop”.  He had three daughters and so no one in his family carried the Keelty name until I was born and my parents named me Stephen Todd Keelty.

When my great-grandfather died I (as the last of his line to carry the name “Keelty”) was given his war medals.  He fought in both world wars, and received 5 medals for his service.

Today is Remembrance Day, and so I took the medals out, showed them to Ruby, explained what each medal was for.  Ruby’s full name is Ruby Joan Keelty.

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Pop”

  1. bz Says:

    photos? havent seen those medals in years.

Leave a Reply

