Zippy Mouse

Here’s a weird one: changing the refresh rate on my monitor here at work makes my mouse noticeably faster.  Usually I run at 60Hz, but to deal with some hardware issues I sometimes change to 120Hz.  And then my mouse cursor becomes so responsive it’s actually hard to control.  Is the mouse software running off the monitor’s refresh rate?

I have two identical monitors, both plugged into the same video card, and when they’re running at different refresh rates I can compare the mouse behavior for each, and it is clearly different.  It seems that it’s the cursor acceleration which is different as opposed to the overall speed.  Anyway, I wouldn’t have expected a relationship between mouse performance and display hardware refresh rate, but there you go.

Leave a Reply

